What’s in a name?

At the suggestion of a very good Chinese friend, we took the surname of a minority race in China that somewhat resembles our English last name. It’s gone over pretty well, especially since it’s rare and memorable to have a last name in China with two syllables.

Today, someone broke the news to us that our last name is used by the majority of kung fu movie heroes. We could have just picked Schwarzenegger as our last name and have been done with it.

To top things off, I picked ‘Jian’ as my first name, again as a close resemblance to my English name. It just so happens that the Chinese character means ‘strength.’ If people laugh at meeting me, I’ll just remember that meeting a ‘Rambo Schwarzenegger’ would make me laugh too.

4 Responses to “What’s in a name?”


  1. 1 Philip Harold March 19, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    Hi JM and Liz! I’ve been greatly enjoying your blog, and just wanted to say hi.

  2. 2 Sean March 20, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    Hi JM and Liz!

    I have been following along and reading about your adventures. I’m sorry we haven’t written yet. Allison and I miss you guys so much and we really can’t believe how big Leo is getting and we haven’t even met him yet!

    Texas is good. We just endured a huge rainstorm that flooded our backyard pretty good. We’ve yet to see Julie but may get together after Easter.

    Jacob crawls really fast and has an exploding vocabulary. His first word was “duck” but he can say mama, dada, flag, plane, bye-bye, book, dog, baby, frog, hot and many more.

    I’ve been meaning to ask my two incredulous questions: Why did rent something 7 floors up with no elevator? And how cold is it over there? It looks like the chinese baby is bundled up for 10 below but you and Liz and Leo are dressed like its in the 50s. I’ve been very intrigued that everyone thinks Leo is too cold.

    Also, how’s the air quality in Nanjing? I’ve seen all these stories about how bad it is in Beijing and what their doing to clean it up for the Olympics.

    We miss you dearly! Stay safe and keep enjoying your adventure!

    Sean

  3. 3 Becca March 20, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    Ooooo! Can I be in your next movie!?!?! I could play one of your top assasins and we can save and protect some top party official! I’ve always wanted to do that! Cool so that means what? I’m going to have to start learning some new Chinese phrases, start training like, 8 hours a day….and dieting…well….maybe….um….can I play on of the victims!?!? :o)

  4. 4 Rachael March 24, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    So, what is Liz & Leo’s names?? what did you choose as your last name? i am curious? what do i call you now?!?!? =)

    miss you guys! was remembering when you were here for easter a few years ago!!!

    love
    rachael


Leave a Reply

