What are you smoking?

I just finished up my second appointment at the Jiangsu Provincial Traditional Chinese Medicine Hospital, and now I know why so many people love Chinese Medicine. It’s because all you do apparently is smoke marijuana and you subsequently feel much better about whatever is ailing you :).

Seriously though, as I entered the hospital, I was overwhelmed by the powerful smell of pot everywhere. I turned to my friend, a Syrian woman who is studying Chinese and Western medicine here, and asked her if I was smelling what I thought I was smelling. She laughed and said, “NO!” but agreed that the place does reek of pot. She explained that TCM (Traditional Chinese Medicine) uses many herbs to induce healing in the body, and they are often burned over certain parts of the body to promote healing. Ahhhh, that makes sense. I was relieved and amused all at once.

The hospital itself is gorgeous, a stark contrast to the Children’s Hospital we visited a few months ago. And the treatment is incredibly cheap and efficient. Many people here prefer TCM to Western Medicine, and I can appreciate this. Thus far, it seems very holistic and concerned with getting at the root cause of an ailment and treating the entire system affected rather than simply prescribing medicine to treat a symptom. I’ll be going back for more, and am really interested in learning more about it, so I’ll be sure to update you all about any new findings.

1 Response to “What are you smoking?”


  1. 1 Jennifer Castellon April 23, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    Hi Guys,

    I’m writing to let you know how much I enjoy reading your blog. I have been following your adventures since the beginning, but never wrote to you. What an experience, it truly takes special people to be able to take on so much and still keep a great sense of humor.

    I look forward to your next entery.

    Best,
    Jen


Leave a Reply

